summer days not wasting away.

This May Victoria Day long weekend brought some of the best May weather I have seen in the past few years! Highs of 29 degrees celsius made me giddy with thoughts of the endless opportunities for the upcoming months. Unfortunately for me, I had to spend the majority of the weekend inside working, but this led me to think of all the fun things I could have been doing had I had the day off. While it was not fun to be inside during such an amazing weekend, I know that there will be lots of warm, sunny weather headed my way, and I plan to soak up every drop of sun. So below is a shortened list of some of the things I want to do this summer!

1 – read! Reading has always been one of my favourite activities, and when the summer months hit I love to head outside, to the beach, or to the dock, with my current novel and a cold drink!

2 – go camping! I have had a cottage my whole life, so the idea of ditching the nice, bug free building, in exchange for a tent with a sleeping bag always lacked some lustre. But in the past few summers, I was introduced to camping and I have to say I quite enjoy it! I’ll always prefer a weekend at my cottage, but camping is a fun weekend getaway!

3 – don’t say no! The summer months are always filled with tons of opportunity and activities – local rib fests, fireworks, invitations to people’s cottages, boating out on the lake, coffee dates replaced by beach dates, bike rides, picnics, and the list goes on. I’ve decided that this year, regardless of how tired I may be after a day of work, I’m really going to try and not say no to anything my friends invite me to do. Summer is meant to be enjoyed after all!

4 – skydiving! I’ve been once before, and my second jump is planned for a weekend in June.

5 – have a ‘staycataion’. I won’t have an opportunity to go on a real vacation this summer (aside from possibly a week at my cottage), but I think it would be fun to have a staycation – that is a shorter vacation style weekend in my home city. There are still some parts of the city and surrounding area that I haven’t had a chance to explore yet.

6 – have fun! It doesn’t take much to keep me happy – cold popsicles, hot weather, a good book, etc.

7 – decor challenge: redo my bedroom!

Thoughts?

