work it out.

It’s mid-May and that means that bikini season is fast approaching. While I’ve never been a large person, I’ve been lucky to have a petite frame and have been a dancer/cheerleader all my life, fitness has taken a back seat to other more pressing things in my life. But, since it is my 22nd birthday on Friday, I’ve decided that it is time to re-prioritize my life and bring healthy living and fitness back to the fore front. I have always loved yoga, and I recently joined a gym near by that offers your average gym classes as well as hot yoga classes! My five fitness goals for the summer are as follows:

1 – run! I ran a 5K run last November for a friend’s charity in 36 minutes – by the end of June, I want to be able to run a 5K again in under 30 minutes.

2 – go to yoga twice a week. My excuse is the same as a lot of peoples – I don’t have time. But by really evaluating what is important, I’m going to be able to fit in a few yoga classes a week.

3 – eat whole grains. It seems simple enough, but I am an extremely picky eater who has always stuck to white pasta, white bread and my loved Kraft Dinner. It is time to change that.

4 – drink more water. When I’m thirsty I often reach for a diet coke – but I’m really going to try and drink 8 glasses of water a day instead of opting for sugary drinks.

5 – tone. I’ve always been a little shy of the weight room at a gym, but my new gym has a women’s only section that I am hoping will allow me to get over my fear of free weights and learn they are my friend!

Maybe I’ll use these new fitness goals as an excuse to buy this adorable work out tank from lululemon:

Thoughts?

